Patiala: In a disappointing performance, Asian Games champion Arpinder Singh became pipped by way of Karthik Unnikrishnan for the triple leap gold medal in the Indian Grand Prix VI, here on Thursday.

Unnikrishnan came up with a 16.69m effort on his very last try to seal the gold at the same time as Arpinder turned into not able to head beyond the 16.35m that he managed on his second try.

The 26-yr-antique Arpinder, who jumped 16.83m even as prevailing gold in the National Inter-State Athletics Championships in Lucknow some days ago, is about to miss the World Championships to be held in Doha from September 28.

The World Championship qualifying widespread is 16.95m and the qualifying period ends on Friday nighttime.

In the guys’ 4x400m relay, the Indian crew which turned into taking part inside the event to improve its timing, received the race with the aid of clocking three:03. Sixty-eight but failed in its objective.

With Alex Antony not having recovered from the hamstring harm that he suffered in the course of the 4x400m relay in Lucknow, the Indian crew comprised Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, KS Jeevan, and Muhammed Anas Yahiya.

The quartet controlled a prevailing time however the try and clock a faster time than the three:01. Eighty-five that India clocked inside the Asian Games last 12 months did no longer succeed. India now occupied the closing and 16th slot for World Championships qualification.

Similarly, World University Games 100m sprint champion Dutee Chand’s bid to slide under eleven.24 seconds did not fructify as she received the race in 11.43 seconds. She is, but, likely to make it to the World Championships.

The Results:

Men: 100m: 1. Kush Kumar (Bihar) eleven.Forty eight seconds; 2. Abhishek Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) eleven.67; three. Nikhil Rahangdale (Madhya Pradesh) 12.19.

200m: 1. Gajanand Mistry (AFI A) 21.77 seconds; 2. Sarthak Bhambri (Delhi) 22.05; 3. Nikhil Rahangdale (Madhya Pradesh) 25.Seventy-two.

Triple soar: 1. U Karthik (Kerala) sixteen.69m; 2. Arpinder Singh (Punjab) 16.35; 3. Mohammed Salahuddin (Tamil Nadu) sixteen.33.

A shot placed: 1. Inderjeet Singh (Haryana) 198.53m; 2. Jasdeep Singh Dhillon (Punjab) 18.10; three. Devinder Singh (Punjab) 17.44.

Javelin throw: 1. Rajender (Haryana) 78.67m; 2. Davinder Singh (Punjab) 78.37; three. Yashvir Singh (Haryana) seventy six.19.

Pole Vault: 1. Prashant Kumar Kanhiya (Delhi) four.90m; 2. Dhirendra Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 4.60; three. Gourav (Haryana) four.50.

4x400m Relay: 1. AFI ‘B’ (Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, KS Jeevan, and Muhammed Anas Yahiya) three:03.68; 2. AFI ‘A’ three:10.55; three. Sri Lanka 3:13.08.

Women: 100m: 1. Dutee Chand (Odisha) 11.Forty-three seconds; 2. MV Jalna (Kerala) eleven.77; three. Indu Prasad (Madhya Pradesh) 12.56.

200m: 1. Anjali Devi (Haryana) 23.Forty four seconds.

400m: 1. V Revathi (Tamil Nadu) 53.63 seconds; 2. Aishwarya Mishra (Maharashtra) fifty-four.Seventy-two; 3. Payal Vohra (Delhi) 57.Fifty-one.

1500m: 1. Lili Das (West Bengal) 4:19.Seventy-seven; 2. WKL ArahchiNimali (Sri Lanka) four:25.86; three. KM Deeksha (Uttar Pradesh) four:46.89.

3000m steeplechase: 1. Sudha Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 10:00.Sixty six; 2. Chinta Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) eleven:11.67; 3. Preenu Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 11:32.63.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *